Windows Mobile 6 SDK gives Empty Toolbox in Visual Studio

I finally got around to installing the SDK for WM6. Turned out that my Toolbox (in Visual Studio) was completely empty when I started a new WM6 project afterwards.

The solution was to right-click the toolbox and select “Reset Toolbox” from the context menu. This was highly annoying because it of course removed my custom tools (e.g. the Ajax Toolkit). Anyway, at least it’s working.

20 Responses to Windows Mobile 6 SDK gives Empty Toolbox in Visual Studio

  1. You just save my day =). Ty

  2. Tony says:

    This does NOT work for me. I’ve tried deleting all the hidden .tds files, and I’ve tried all the other common solutions found via google searches. No dice.

  3. Tony says:

    .tbd files, excuse me.

  4. Tony says:

    Install .NET Compact Framework 2.0 SP2.

    I tried everything else (deleting the .tdb files, disconnecting and reconnecting the mouse, the “cmd /c start /wait devenv /setup /resetuserdata /resetskippkgs”), and my problem remained.

    After installing the .NET CF 2.0 SP2, all my Toolbox items are back.

  5. Mic says:

    You just saved my evening ! Thanks a lot !

  6. Sezai says:

    I have same problem toolbox gray when i want to develop mobile device project wit vs 2008 c# but like Tony advice I installed .NET Compact Framework 2.0 SP2. and my problem solved(toolbox active) Thanks Tony

  7. Steve says:

    Three cheers for Tony. I also tried all the other solutions floating around. I ran devenv with all the switches. I deleted the tdb files. I reinstalled the mobile 6 SDK and 6.5 TDK, and .Net 3.5. You ROCK!

  8. Tony says:

    🙂 Glad I could help. I use these sites all the time, and it feels good to give something back.

  9. Roland says:

    Thanks for the tip to install the NETCF SP2. In general I’m really satisfied with Visual Studio, but installing Windows Mobile 6.5 support is the hell. And VS2010 without support for WM6x is not the best idea too. I’m no longer wondering why there are only Apps for iOS- and Android systems available.

  10. Techno says:

    Techno…

    […]Windows Mobile 6 SDK gives Empty Toolbox in Visual Studio « Mobiledeveloper[…]…

  11. mobile web development Sydney…

    […]Windows Mobile 6 SDK gives Empty Toolbox in Visual Studio « Mobiledeveloper[…]…

  12. rick says:

    i downloaded it tony and installed but nothing’s changed?? what’s happening? pls help

  13. kasetsombun says:

    Really no matter if someone doesn’t know afterward its up to other users that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  14. pembayaran online says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here.

    I did however expertise a few technical points using this website, as I
    experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get
    it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?

    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if
    advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding
    this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of
    your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update
    this again very soon.

  15. If you are going for most excellent contents like I do,
    only pay a visit this site daily for the reason that it provides
    feature contents, thanks

  16. the sims 5 says:

    You could definitely see your expertise in the work
    you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how
    they believe. Always follow your heart.

  17. Follow Back says:

    Plеase let me know if yⲟu’re lߋoking for a writer for your blog.
    Yⲟou hqve some realⅼy good posts and I think I would be a good
    asset. If yоou ever want to take som of the load off, I’d love
    to wгritе some content for yoir blig in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Regɑrds!

  18. Can you tell us more about this? I’d care to find out more details.

  19. forex forum says:

    Asking questions are actually pleasant thing if you are not understanding anything totally, however
    this post gives nice understanding yet.

Leave a Reply

